About Us

Jefferson County Water Control & Improvement District No 10

May 11, 2013 Ballot Proposition For Water System Improvements

The Jefferson County Water Control & Improvement District No. 10 Board of Directors has called a special election on Saturday May 11, 2013 to consider authorizing the issuance of $1,325,000 in bonds to fund water system improvements.  The Bonds shall be repaid by the assessment and collection of ad valorem tax to finance the proposed improvements.  Due to the refinancing of the District’s 2003 Bonds at a lower net effective interest rate, the District hopes to issue the bonds to fund the proposed water system improvements and repay them without an increase in the current property tax rate of the District.  The Bonds, if approved, would be paid through 2033.

The improvements proposed include construction of a 1 million gallon per day clarifier for the water plant to provide redundancy in the event of a mechanical failure or operational problems and to replace an undersized clarifier.  Additionally, the improvements include installation of a Data Monitoring System or “SCADA” System for the water plant.  The “SCADA” System provides computer monitoring and transmission of information continuously on plant equipment and operations. The water plant typically is in operation 24 hours per day 7 days per week, but is not staffed after 5:00 pm, so the “SCADA” system will provide communication as to key components to ensure public safety.


The Jefferson County Water Control & Improvement District No. 10 was created by an act of the Texas Legislature on April 20, 1955. The Water District was established to provide potable water and sewer services to approximately 300 families living in the 333 acres of Central Gardens. By 1993 The Water District had grown to 1,178 acres and had a population of approximately 5,500.

The Water District’s governing body consists of five (5) at-large Board Directors. Directors elect Officers to fill the positions of President, Vice President, and Secretary. Board Directors server 4-year terms and elections are held in even-numbered years.

Mission Statement:
The Jefferson County WC&ID No. 10 strives to provide the community we serve with professional, reliable, and quality services. We are committed to improving our efficiency and effectiveness by communicating with customers, maintaining and improving the infrastructure and being fiscally conservative.

Board of Directors:
Stephen Savant – President
Lester Crooks – Vice President
Loretta Wade – Secretary
Tom Smith – Director
Terry Jackson – Director